Should you get a divorce?

Make Sure You’re Ready for the Fallout

By Stephanie O’Neill, Special to LifeScript

 

 

 

Divorce is so common in our culture that it may seem the natural solution to tough marital times. After all, only 52% of married couples in the U.S. make it to their 15th anniversary. But your divorce probably won’t look like the ones in the movies: You’re unlikely to walk away with a hefty alimony payment, a fabulous loft apartment or a passionate Italian lover. And even if you can sustain your lifestyle after a divorce, a breakup without planning can result in a lifetime of regret. “I had a client, a lovely woman, who was married 39 years,” says Virginia R. Dugan, chairwoman of the American Bar Association Marital Property Committee and a law partner at Atkinson & Kelsey, a law firm specializing in divorce and family law in Albuquerque, New Mexico. “Her husband was ignoring her, so she started [divorce proceedings] as a wakeup call.” Unfortunately, her husband embraced the idea. “She didn’t realize it was going to go that far,” Dugan says. “She’s been divorced for two years.” 

Lesson: Be careful what you wish for.
 
 

 

Source: www.

One Comment

  1. Bruce Fisher
    Posted February 1, 2009 at 4:24 am | Permalink

    Good morning, Heading through a divorce I know isn’t Gods will, my wife has twice now : left, filed order of protection, droppped it and taken our daughter. Last December she asked to reconsile sighting ” God called me to be a mother and a wife I dont want a divorce.” Only to abandon me September 2008 after purchasing a house in May 2008. My lawyer has been on a big case and the current child support is 57% of my take home pay. THe ” system” is about to CREATE a dead beat dad that loves his wife and kids. No one is listening or helping. I am literally at Gods mercy now. Sir I have broken no law, harmed no one, taken nothing and kept every promise I have made. I do not believe this divorce will do anything but destroy me and ruin any chance my family has to survive financially and spiritually. I would appreciate your words.
    with faith,
    B


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

